top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureRob Barber

Oh the times they are a changing'

Come gather 'round 'Buzzers, wherever you roam And admit that the waters around you have grown And accept it that soon you'll be drenched to the bone....

Yup, after that cold dry April, the waters round here have certainly grown.

Twice this week my run home has involved a wade through the river Clywedog. Where did all this water come from? It was drier up in the highlands!

But the times are definitely changing. Three times within the last week I've seen kids out doing football training on football pitches. Seen families coming back together, including my own. Seen people actually sat in the seats outside the pubs. Those things have been pleasant to see.

Less pleasant is the noticeable increase in traffic. It looks like many of us didn't really adapt after all. We appear to be sliding back to "normality" very easily.

Me, I've thought about how I want my normal to be.

In work, we split our warehouse into 2 separate shifts, so that if one of us contracted COVID only half of us would need to self-isolate, helping the business to continue to run. The easing of restrictions has permitted a re-think on this. I came up with a new plan, zonal working; split the warehouse into 3 teams and carefully manage operations to minimise contact between the teams. My plans were approved, we are back on normal daytime hours. Very welcome it has been with an increasingly fatigued team too.

That change has allowed me to get back to commuting on foot. I don't need to be part of the traffic problem, I can be part of the solution. It's only 3 miles to work, why not walk it or run it? It takes care of some of the marathon training too, with a little extension to the run home a couple of days a week.

This how I came to be wading through the river Clywedog - which is right up over the footpath under the bridge just by the King's Mill, the back way into the grounds of Erddig. It is a pleasant and decent route home, with bluebells and wild garlic lining much of the route.

Aside from thoughts of training for marathons, I've realised how much better for me mentally it is to be commuting on foot. It wouldn't suit everybody I know; for instance, I don't have to worry about the shape of my hair, or the discomfort of sitting in an office chair wearing trousers that got damp in the drizzle. But it is definitely good for me.

In the car, there is frustration with other motorists. There is no chance to shut off from work before arriving home, the tension in the shoulders comes home too, perhaps just from the physical act of holding the steering wheel, but nevertheless it comes home.

On foot, there is time to wind down. There is the sound of birds and the buzzing of bees; all 5 senses are given a tingle. Separation between work life and home easily achieved. Arrival at work feels more lively too, more alert, more awake, more ready for what tests the day is ready to throw in my direction. For the step counters, it has benefits too:

Not too shabby for a Wednesday.


Yes, life feels good walking to work. I can see why them seven dwarves whistle.

21 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page